Wednesday, December 15, 2010

FINAL REFLECTION

This class was great for learning different aspects of technology. I usually spend most time on email or facebook, etc. But this class really showed sides of what technology is supposed to be about. I am sad when I think of how technology has become such an obsession in our society today. Even though there are many good things about technology, I feel as though most of it is spent wasting away on things that are not important. The gospel insights presentations were great in showing a different side of technology.

I do not know if I will use technology in my class, because a huge emphasis for me will be on getting kids to physically do things outside of their norm. This means backing away from technology that most kids spend so much time on anyways. Even though there are many ways to use technology in the classroom, I feel as though I will not use technology in my classroom. The only thing I can think of that I MIGHT use is the class website. But even that I am unsure about.

This class has given me more hope for using technology in the years to come because I now know how to do different things that I was unable to do before. The technological things that I learned in this class will benefit me in the long run that is for sure. This is because our society becomes more and more tech-dependent every single day. The more I know the more I can teach my students.

Thanks DAN!!!

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

STUDIOCODE part 2!

So studiocode is pretty cool. I like being able to organize a video part by part and watch the good aspects. This makes it easier to go through a video rather than watching ALL 20+ minutes of it. The part I do not like is how many different things have to go on in order to do this. My management and instruction were kinda crappy when I analyzed them part by part. However, this was a bad video and was hard to analyze. The actual video was messed up because another group had the same frequency as us.
Other parts of studiocode and my management and instruction that were of any use to me were the "learning" about how to use this program. I feel like I see a lot of PETE students using it and I have a strong feeling that we are going to be using it next semester. SO this was a great idea in having a class that teaches you how to use it and analyze your teaching. I kind of wish we just had a whole class period to do it that way we could ask questions and figure it out while we were there.
Changes for next semester are of course make sure no one is on the same frequency. Another change is to make sure I have an organized class to make the video not so hard to watch. I feel like I could not see anything almost the whole time. Other than this I think I am doing great! Hopefully middle school students next semester won't be TOO difficult!! ;)

Wednesday, December 1, 2010

I'm in Studio Code Mode

My management and instruction is "okay" I guess I should say. I know that there are many things I COULD work on and improve on, but at the same time I feel like those things will change once I actually start teaching. For example, discipline during a lesson I teach now is way different than it would be with my own class. I will know their names and I will know where to send them etc. So of course things will be a lot different once I have my own class.

Another thing that is weird to me is the emphasis on communication jargons during instruction. This means saying "you guys" or whatever. I feel as though this is an unnecessary thing to dwell on when teaching. Of course it is not really good to say this to students, however this is something everyone says in our society today. Why is their so much emphasis to not say them when we leave the lesson and people say it all around us? I don't know I just feel like it is a waste of focus.

I want to be more comfortable teaching and not be so nervous. This means that I need to prepare with my lesson more and know/think about every possible situation that could happen. I also want to be able to teach more interesting lessons because I think the kids will be more attentive and more willing to learn if the lesson is enthralling to them. I plan to prepare a lot more before my lesson and really think about how things will go down.

Wednesday, November 17, 2010

Web 2.0 don't you know?

I think that google.com is probably the best web 2.0 site out there. It is still amazing to me that you can make a powerpoint presentation with people anywhere in the world. Other sites that might be useful are youtube, blogger, and maybe photobucket for pictures from throughout the year. These sights are all awesome and allow information to be online and accessed from any computer. This is great for teaching because then you can give out information to students on the computer at any time instead of actually physically seeing them to give them things. Also, the other way around works great too because then kids can turn things in without physically handing it to the teacher. Our society today spends a HUGE amount of time on the computer so these websites make it more convenient for us. I would not use facebook for anything educational unless I wanted to know the personal lives of my students and that is something that I would rather find out by getting to know them instead of reading the status they put last night about their love life... :)

Wednesday, November 10, 2010

LAST MINUTE DISASTER!! :(

The experience I had making these videos was mostly positive. It turned negative the very last day in the very last 2 hours, when I was trying to upload it to youtube. My video worked in iMovie and everything and then it compressed. BUT when I played the compressed movie it froze on one scene even though it continued to play. So even though the music kept playing and the time kept running, it was stuck on the same picture. This was frustrating and I tried fixing it for about 2 hours. I ended up talking to Dan and he told me to compress it with Web Streaming. It worked! However, the quality is probably the worst quality I have ever seen in a video! I am sad about it but hopefully I can get it fixed soon. I have had a little bit of experience with iMovie previously so it worked out well. I could make another movie if I was asked to do so. I would probably make a video for my class, but more likely I would make a video WITH my class. It would be a great opportunity to advocate for Physical Education. You can watch my video below or my video can be found by clicking here!!

Doug Pinkal (my partner) made a video and it's link can be found here!



Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Changed Story Board

I do not know if we are supposed to update our story boards if there are any changes, but I am doing so just in case.

My story board for my video completely changed because I came up with the idea that because winter is coming, people are going to naturally spend more time indoors. Well turns out we are supposed to be physically fit ALL YEAR LONG and not just during months that are bearable to go outside. So I decided to show clips that I filmed of my friends while they were sledding and snowboarding. It is very entertaining in my opinion and I hope it will be to others as well. All of these clips are of my friends crashing haha. I used the song Don't Let Me Fall by B.O.B. which seemed appropriate :) The video promotes going outside and playing even in the cold winter months when no one wants to even look at how cold it is outside ha. I have not embedded the video into youtube yet because it still needs some work. But it will be done in time for class.

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

iMovie.. iSee!

So far I have not had any problems with the iMovie. I have had a little experience in the past with them so it is fairly easy to me to figure out what I do not know. The only trouble I am having is settling on an idea of what to do for sure. I have a bunch of ideas and thoughts about them, but I cannot seem to decide. So I will keep thinking because I want it to be really good. However, my hopes are too high because I know it will not be that good haha. I do not have any tutorials to show because I do not know what I would show. K thanks.. BYEEEEEE